Are You Being Safe on Facebook?

facebook-billions-557x362

( http://smallbiztrends.com/2013/07/facebook-reaches-1-billion-active-members.html )

Facebook is one of the biggest social media websites.  Facebook’s mission “is to give the people the power to share and make the world more open and connected” ( n.d. ).  I don’t know about you, but I love using Facebook. I love keeping up with friends, family, and looking at everyone’s post. But is it actually safe? Are we safe?  Are we at risk for identity theft, home robberies or stalkers?

 My boyfriend is always telling me, ” Don’t post any pictures or check us in when we are out!”. Maybe he is right!  I’ve known people who have been fired and have got into trouble at their workplace, because of things on their Facebook profile. Whether this is right or not, people are watching you. I had a friend get his house broken into and a lot of valuable and important things taken. Maybe this was just a coincidence or maybe he was being watched.  Maybe we can prevent this from happening to us, friends and family by keeping our profiles more safe.

   After looking around the internet, I came across an article online,  “ 5 Ways to Stay Safe on Facebook” (Liu, 2010) .  After reading this article, I went to my Facebook page to see how secure it was. Well, guess what? It’s not! Not only on my Facebook page, but also on my smart phone. The article is very easy to follow, has good steps to help keep your personal information safe and how to protect your privacy on Facebook.

  I encourage everyone to take a look at the article and make sure your Facebook profiles are safe. Lets continue to keep facebook fun. Just remember to be cautious, stay safe and not become a victum of identity theft, robberies or stalkers.

Leave a Reply

